

OFFICE OF THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT PARLIAMENT BUILDING OAU DRIVE, TOWER HILL FREETOWN



E-mail: sierraleoneparliament@hotmail.com/admin@parliament.gov.sl

02nd October 2018

PRESS RELEASE

PARLIAMENT APPROVES NEW BANK GOVERNOR AND TWELVE OTHERS

The Parliament of Sierra Leone has on Tuesday 02nd October 2018 debated and approved with some dissenting voices the Twelfth Report of the Committee on Appointments and the Public Service, chaired by the Leader of Government Business, Hon. Sidie M. Tunis.

Congratulating the nominees after approval, the Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Dr. Abass Bundu said that the nominees are qualified for the positions they had been nominated by the President, whilst calling on them not to either disappoint the President or Parliament based on the confidence reposed in them, cognizant of their onerous responsibilities of their new assignments.

The following presidential nominees have been approved by Parliament:

- I. Professor Kelfala Morana Kallon-Governor, Bank of Sierra Leone
- II. Mr. Smart K. Senesie-Chairman, Sierra Leone Road Maintenance Fund Board Administration
- III. Ms. Michaela Kadijatu Conteh-Chairman, Board of Directors, National Minerals Agency Board
- IV. Mr. Brima Mohamed Baluwa Koroma-Executive Chairman, Petroleum Regulatory Agency
- V. Dr. James Vibbi-Executive Chairman, Produce Monitoring Board, Ministry of Trade and Industry
- VI. Mr. Joseph Samba Kelfala-Chairman, Board of Directors, Sierra Leone Roads Authority Board
- VII. Abdul Sheku Kargbo-Executive Director, National Drug Law Enforcement Agency
- VIII. Mr. Sahr Nyama-Chairman, Board of Directors, National Youth Service Board
- IX. Mr. Arthur N. Yaskey-Commissioner, Sierra Leone Insurance Commission
- X. Sheik Mustapha Bawoh-Chairman, Board of Directors, Sierra Leone Road Safety Authority Board
- XI. Ms. Anna Betty Moussa-Deputy High Commissioner, Federal Republic of Nigeria
- XII. Col. Rtd Saa Anthony Sinah-Deputy Commissioner, Sierra Leone Commission on Small Arms and
- XIII. Rtd, Brig. Gen. Tamba R. Allieu-Commissioner, Sierra Leone National Commission of Small Arms

Seconding the motion, Deputy Leader of Government Business, Hon. Sahr Mathew Nyuma described the nominees as qualified and called on them to discharge their duties to positively affect the lives of ordinary Sierra Leoneans under the hegemony of the New Direction.

Hon. Abdul Kargbo of APC disassociated himself from the approval of the Bank Governor saying that his nomination is in abrogation of certain provisions in the Bank of Sierra Leone Act of 2011, contingent on the tenure of a Bank Governor whose appointment could not be overturned save by a resolution of Parliament.

Responding, Hon. Hindolo Ngevao of SLPP spoke on the qualifications and competencies of the nominees, especially the Bank Governor who had left the United States to come and serve his native Sierra Leone, noting that the "doors of the courts are open to those who are in contention of his nomination".

Hon. Rebecca Y. Kamara of C4C commended the Committee on Appointments for doing a good job and President Bio for nominating three Konos who had played a major role in the development of the country, especially during the days of the war.

Hon. Alhaji Dr. Kandeh Kolleh Yumkella of NGC disagreed with the position of Hon. Ngevao's "that if MPs are not happy, they should go to court", whilst speaking on the powers and functions of Parliament that should be exercised without let or hindrance and the need for strengthening parliamentary oversight. He stated that decisions of Parliament are not subject to the courts, noting that the last government did not have the authority, yet they changed almost five Bank Governors during their reign.

Acting Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Ibrahim Ben Kargbo recognized the Speaker as acting President of Sierra Leone, stating that nobody has the authority of stopping MPs from expressing their opinions in Parliament and that past errors should not be used to accommodate new ones. He also said that the Bank Governor was grilled with difficult questions and "that it is fair that in that light to say he had gone through the process".

Concluding, the Leader of Government Business, Hon. Sidie M. Tunis assured the opposition parties of continued dialogue for the success of the New Direction, noting that it is within the competence of the President to appoint nominees and that of Parliament to vet those nominees in line with existing protocols before approval.

Department of Public Relations Parliament of Sierra Leone +23278495023/+23277669726